I would suggest the correct call of "catch" could


[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ Sun Devil Message Board ]

Posted by '74'80 Devil on November 22, 18 at 10:26:41:

In Reply to: Re: Bickley not happy with Pac-12 posted by So So on November 22, 18 at 09:34:01:

have been made (maybe not by PAC-12 refs) from replay video. I watched the game from a streaming source with 5 minutes of back time and frame by frame available. I don't think stills from other photographic sources were necessary to determine the call.

As I watched the play in frame by frame, my judgement of the foot in bounds was based on the "fact" that I kept my attention on the straight edge of the white back line. I was watching for any moment when the edge would appear to lose it's "straightness" from a white shoe touching or overlapping it. IMHO, I never lost sight of a "straight-line edge". How close can you get to the edge without going out of bounds? If you have to have "visible green" to be in bounds, then the white line really isn't the boundary - the boundary becomes the "white line plus some green". You 'Ranchers who have the game recorded could try what I did and see what you think.

Then, if replay determined that the ball was securely in Darby's hands before that foot left the ground - CATCH.

Perhaps I am wrong. Perhaps I am correct, but the PAC-12 Officials/Lawyers/Tennis-Experts wouldn't agree with me and the call on the field would stand. But 2 things for sure:
1. Officials in the field should have determined the play should be reviewed even if the Replay Official did not.
2. Herm should have insisted it be reviewed.


Follow Ups:



Post a Followup

Name:
E-Mail:

Subject:

Comments:

Optional Link URL:
Link Title:
Optional Image URL:


[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ Sun Devil Message Board ]